Carving Compassion

Buddha  (Om Mani Padme Hum) Slate on Mirror  61 cm  x 40.5cm

Buddha (Om Mani Padme Hum)
Slate on Mirror with Plinth
61 cm x 40.5cm

Today’s piece is one of the Buddha hand-carved  slates on Mirror with a candle plinth at his feet. The plinth is carved in the design of the  Celtic Spiral of Life, which for me balances the piece well.

The photo, I feel does not do the piece justice (apologies). I have made a few different versions of the Buddha Slate all of which have flown. The only one I have left for myself is “Mantra” which continues to enhance both my wall and my life!

Buddha taught that life is suffering – working through the barrier of chronic pain on a daily basis has opened my understanding to this philosophy!

I find meditation helps my condition and the “Om Mani Padme Hum” is a manta for compassion.

Om Mani Padme Om
Hand Carved Slate

To hear the chant click http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3gFbUbA3a4

Namaste

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in Irish, Slate, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

