Face Off

Self Portrait of Artist with Fibromyalgia Abstract in Mirror

Self Portrait of Artist with Fibromyalgia
Abstract in Mirror

Hi Folks,

Today I am showcasing  the macabre! ” Abstract Self-Portrait of Artist with Fibromyalgia”. It is the most fun I had with paint in a while. Whilst working on a detailed piece constrained by pain, I stopped and asked myself “Why do I paint?” My answer was that I enjoyed it….and that’s when the fun began.

I stuck my head into a basin of blue paint, my partner wrapped paper around my face which I then transferred onto board. I threw some paint at it and worked the image some.

The effect, I believe is amazing – it actually glows in the dark! The red lines slashed across my face represent the boundaries my illness confines me too, like being behind bars.

I carved an oval mirror into a slate and cut a piece above the mirror and inserted the painting. Now when I look at the painting, then the mirror and back again, I gain strength from it. Fibromyalgia will not dictate my quality of life. I am far too stubborn.

Hope you like

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in Art, Irish, Slate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Face Off

  1. Kowareta says:

    I really like it. I’ve often liked incorperating mirrors into my work when I used to do some art to incorporate the viewer into the work and give them some personal reflection, too. The painting feels like you’ve given your fibro a face.. something that you can compare to what you see in the mirror and separate it from yourself… I likes it ^_^ Awesome work.

Leave a Reply

