Never Give Up

Dalai Lama. Pencil Portrait 55 cm x 43 cm

Dalai Lama.
Pencil Portrait
55 cm x 43 cm

This drawing of the Dalai Lama took me more than a year to complete because my illness was so bad. I had been carving slates but due to  the chronic pain, I was forced to stop.

These were really hard days for me. I found the simple wisdom of the Dalai Lama such as “Choose to be optimistic, it feels better” to be a wonderful source of strength to me. So where I had left down my carving tools, I picked up a pencil. Line by line I worked on the drawing, sometimes  10 minutes a day was all I could manage. With love and patience the portrait finally was complete.

Never Give Up

 HH the XIV Dalai Lama

Never give up
No matter what is going on
Never give up

Develop the heart
Too much energy in your country
Is spent developing the mind
Instead of the heart
Develop the heart

Be compassionate

Not just with your friends

But with everyone

Be compassionate

Work for peace
In your heart
And in the world
Work for peace

And I say again
Never give up
No matter what is going on around you
Never give up

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in Art, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Never Give Up

  1. Zen Greenway says:

    That is freakin’ beautiful! (I mean the drawing.) Love and patience. Love and patience. Yes.

  2. mcsirishart says:

    Many thanks to the Chronically Awesome Reader http://paper.li/julianna12369/1309649132

Leave a Reply

