Horses for Courses

Hi Everyone, today’s piece was a commissioned piece I finished a while back for a horse lover. It’s called “Epona” after the Roman Goddess protector of horses donkeys and mules. Epona can be linked to the beautiful Rhiannon of Welsh Legends and it pleased me to be using the Welsh Blue Bangor slate to make it.

Hand Crafted Slate on Mirror 73 cm x 68.5 cm

Hand Crafted Slate on Mirror
73 cm x 68.5 cm

There is a another little story behind it though – I don’t know about other artists but when I am working under a commission I always feel slightly more pressure.

I had been carving away on the design for 3 weeks and had it almost complete when I took a break for lunch. I came back to finish and before I knew it, I had hit a hair line fracture in the slate and it broke in two!

It was the first slate that broke on me – I could have cried! I pride my slate on being carved completely out of one piece, so no repairs!

But instead of crying, I picked up the ruined slate, smashed it to bits on the floor, picked up another slate and simply started again.  Typical eh?

Still here’s the finished work, you could say the Goddess was looking out for me on this one, after all what am I if not as stubborn as a mule!

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in Irish, Slate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

