St. Anger – The Artist’s Pain Chronicles

St Anger, Batik 62 cm x 62 cm

St Anger,
Batik
62 cm x 62 cm

My name is Paul and I am a 42 year old artist with a disability. I have fibromyalgia and have lived with chronic pain for 12 years.

A writer asked me a few days ago “How do you manage and cope with the agony that this illness brings?”

I answered to the best of my ability and part of the answer was to think about other people who are suffering and their ability to cope on a daily basis.

Part of the challenge of fibromyalgia is the fact, that despite it being such a desperate condition, very little is understood about it. The cause, clear diagnosis, treatment and recovery are so far all up for debate with no real answers.

What is real is the pain. What I can tell you is that it affects young and old, men and women, from all backgrounds. Sometimes it can be triggered by an event, sometimes it appears out of the blue.

Every sufferer’s experience of the condition is somewhat different, what is consistent is the pain.

The pain is a story that all sufferers share and although the path of my journey may be very different from that of others, it has led me to very much the same place.

This is my story. So to begin at the beginning, my life has never been what could pass as conventional. After a very difficult upbringing, I took to a life literally on the road. Seeking escape from inner and outer demons, I was trying to find some refuge from even myself.

This way of living eventually led me to the point where, 12 years ago, I was mugged and beaten so terribly that I was left for dead. Yes, that is how my journey begins.

More Tomorrow

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in St. Anger - The Artist's Pain Chronicles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to St. Anger – The Artist’s Pain Chronicles

  1. Geo Sans says:

    thanks
    for sharing
    ~
    take care

  2. bdh63 says:

    I had chronic pain after back surgery, and the medical profession just wants to give pain medicine and any accumulated pain elsewhere must be in my head. The only time I ever felt good was after massage. I started using foam rollers to give myself a massage at home, and it has been a revelation. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia also, but I think that is code for they don’t know what it is. I hope your journey takes you to a better place, soon.

  3. hipmonkey says:

    I don’t have fibromyalgia, but have dealt with pain since 1978 after a car wreck mangled my entire spine. I’ve learned that I can handle more than I ever thought I was capable of, and I too see others in worse conditions, which quickly cures the poor me syndrome. It can be difficult to live with pain for sure, and I keep trying to adjust and keep moving forward. It makes me laugh to myself when someone starts complaining of a little ache or something, b/c if they had my pain they’d probably be rolling on the floor kicking and screaming. Good thoughts to you my cyber friend, and congrats on getting this far in life with a good attitude and wonderful writing skills. I always look forward to reading your blog. Thank you for sharing your pain condition, there’s strength in numbers 😉

    • mcsirishart says:

      Thanks for your brilliant feedback, sometimes I laugh when people moan about pain and say to myself ” You should try 10 minutes living in my skin!”
      I think your attitude is great and believe a sense of humour helps a lot.
      People often ask me “How do you cope?”
      My answer is “What’s the alternative?”
      I believe you are right in having to constantly adjust and move on.
      Thank you for your compliments and support. 🙂

Leave a Reply

