St. Anger – The Artist’s Pain Chronicles (part 8)

St Anger, Batik 62 cm x 62 cm

St Anger,
Batik
62 cm x 62 cm

Completing the line drawing opened up a whole new spectrum of art. Money being tight was not a deterrent. After all, there was a whole stock pile of slate that with a little preparation served as well as any canvas.

I was now being prescribed steroids.  The Cortisol was the only medication to even touch the pain. After a year or so the GP showed concern that I was developing severe side effects as a result of their use. I slowly came off them, a horrific experience mentally and physically.

Whilst withdrawing other life style changes were on the cards, moving back into town from country living was a major adjustment. The practicalities of being in a secluded rural setting proved impossible as driving was agony, taking days to recover from journeys into town.

Being creative people, myself and my partner moved into a property slightly near civilization, that although appealed to us, was considered madness by our more level headed family and friends. In hindsight they were right but we hadn’t been able to say no to a castle in the woods!

A couple more moves down the line and we are now settled in a house that suits us completely. Comfort and warmth have become priority in the home because anything else plays havoc with the fibromyalgia.

In fact home has become priority because I spend so much time here. This is a huge turn around for the free spirit that rarely stayed in one place for more than a year at a time.

For that, I am in someways grateful for the illness of fibromyalgia because it has made me slow down. It has made me dig deep for inner reserves that I would never have been aware that I possessed without it.

And I believe as much as it has taken from me as an artist, it drives me onto new ways of learning. The pain and fatigue may do its best to destroy my mind and body but the spirit refuses to lay down….

🙂

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in St. Anger - The Artist's Pain Chronicles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to St. Anger – The Artist’s Pain Chronicles (part 8)

  1. darsword says:

    I, so, empathize with this post! Reblogging!

Leave a Reply

