Celtic Solstice

Celtic Solstice Hand Carved Slate on Mirror 56 cm x 35.5 cm

Celtic Solstice
Hand Carved Slate on Mirror
56 cm x 35.5 cm

Hi, today I am posting one of my earlier works and was created by the layering of two slates to achieve this effect. I believe it is the perfect piece for today as it coincides with the last installment of St. Anger – The Artist’s Pain Chronicles.

The piece reminds me of ancient times and symbolizes my hope for everyone in the future. Hope you like!  🙂

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in Art, Irish, Slate, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celtic Solstice

  1. juliasarahelizabeth says:

    Gorgeous work!

  2. machholz says:

    Hi Mcsirish
    You are an inspiration to everyone, I too love our Celtic heritage and feel our people have lost their identity and this is why we are so easy to control (politically speaking) . Our Celtic heritage is steeped in rich knowledge and the spiritual connection to the land and our environment has been broken and stolen by our current delusional society where all things “New” and the latest IT Gadgets and “must haves” keep our people hooked to the madness of evermore consumerism! Did you ever wonder with all the new technology and our scientific breakthroughs over the last hundred years, more and more people are getting sick and our hospitals cannot cope? I believe that while science is dealing with the physical sickness they are not dealing with our spiritual sickness of the mind! On a brighter side I recently attended a “Celtic Druid Rite of Passage” for my 17year old Son. A sort of confirmation in the old Celtic fashion and it was a most memorable experience. My son got to take an old Celtic name and I also got to do the same! We are both very proud of our Celtic heritage and want to bring it into our daily lives. So keep up the great work and while I cannot afore to buy your pieces I still get great joy on viewing such great Art.
    Thank You
    Thomás Aengus O Cleirigh

    • mcsirishart says:

      Hi Thomas, Thanks for the fantastic feedback. I really enjoy your blogs. I admire the fact that you speak out against the unjust policies that otherwise go unquestioned here in Ireland. I wish there were more like you. It’s wonderful to hear that you are connecting with the Celtic traditions. It’s true, our society has seemed to have lost it’s way. Our children are encouraged to embrace materialism and reject the spiritual. Congratulations to you and your son on the Rite of Passage.

Leave a Reply

