Go with the flow

Winding River- Oil on Slate 67 cm x 38 cm

Winding River-
Oil on Slate
67 cm x 38 cm

Hi,

Today’s painting is a Bob Ross technique of wet-on-wet oil on slate.  Although I started painting on slate through necessity  I now find thatI prefer it. Canvas is a relatively smooth surface, the slate is a little more unpredictable.

I don’t spend hours sanding the slate. I am prepared for the uneven surface with its bumps and holes. I do spend time sanding the edges as they can be very sharp and I wouldn’t want anyone getting a nasty cut. Once this is done, the slate is washed off and away I go!

I like this slate the smooth oval contrasting with the shape of the slate. I hope you like it too.

I have just finished my latest piece of work, I have it drying and can’t wait to show it to you

Wishing you a great day 🙂

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in Art, Irish, Landscape, Slate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Go with the flow

  1. Hanno Phenn says:

    That is very nice Work. I,myself have no clue about oil paint ,respect looks really good.

  2. tlohuis says:

    I just cannot express enough how good you are at what you do. I love this!:)
    Peace,
    Tammy:)

    • mcsirishart says:

      Thank you Tammy, I appriciate your support 🙂

      • tlohuis says:

        You’re welcome. Do you ever sell any of your work? Just curious. Hope you’re having a “good” day, my friend.
        Peace,
        Tammy:)

      • mcsirishart says:

        Hi Tammy, yes Thank God, today the pain is manageable – it’s not the best but has certainly been worse! I do have a couple of prints up on Fine Art America – these were posted recently and I am really happy with their quality now. Hope your day is going well 🙂

      • tlohuis says:

        Hi there. I know what you mean about the pain. My pain is pretty bad right now, but I was able to get a few small things on my daily goals list done. I didn’t get it all done, but I did what I could. So, I’m assuming that Fine Art America is a website, but what name are they under? I would like to go and take a look. My day went pretty well, all things considered. I hope your day went well, as well.:)

      • mcsirishart says:

        Glad to know your day was better, well done on reaching the targets
        Am a bit slow but body begining to adjust to the cold snap.

      • mcsirishart says:

        My work is under Paul Mcgahey, Ireland or you can follow the link “prints” on this blogs menu bar 🙂

Leave a Reply

