Double Delight

Hi Everyone,

I would like to start today by saying thank you to all the people who welcomed me back. The warmth of well wishes truly surprised me.

Today’s piece I began in early November. The thinking was to give it to a much loved family member for Christmas.

Blossom on a Branch Oil on Canvas  10" X 8"

Blossom on a Branch
Oil on Canvas
10″ X 8″

I spent 3 or 4  hours everyday on it for weeks and then had to revert to Plan B for the gift idea.

The painting is only 10″ x 8″ and I found it extremely challenging as the flowers are lit from behind. I knew very little in the techniques to capture this so the process  was a learning curve.

The painting is now complete and I have to travel about 200 miles to deliver it.

Whilst photographing it for the blog, I decided to try the negative mode on the camera…

Blossom on a Branch Oil on Canvas  10" X 8"

Blossom on a Branch
Oil on Canvas
10″ X 8″

I have displayed them both so you can decide which  you prefer!

Hope you have  enjoyed today’s small offering.

Go Raibh Maith Agat

(Thank you)

 

About mcsirishart

Hi, Thanks for looking me up.Hope you like my work. I am an amateur artist, aspiring to professional. Please feel welcome to browse at any of the links below.
This entry was posted in Art, Irish, Nature, Painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Double Delight

  1. Yelling Rosa says:

    Absolute attractive, thanks.

  2. tlohuis says:

    Very nicely done, again. Beautiful. I cannot decide which one I like the best. I like them both very much. Thanks for sharing.:)

  3. they are both great. I really like negative mode one!

  4. darsword says:

    Simply lovely! I love your work!

  5. stuffeyefind says:

    I like the yellows in the flowers. Your brush strokes are very precise it must take a lot of planning or preparation.

    • mcsirishart says:

      Hi, thanks so much for the reblog, I really appriciate this. The piece did take some time as I was learning a new technique by trail and error. I am happy that I stuck with it . I am pleased with the results and its brillant to get such positive feedback 🙂

  6. stuffeyefind says:

    Reblogged this on stuffeyefind and commented:
    Flowers are everywhere but to paint some requires a lot of work. I like his yellows they really pop.

  7. brilliant artwork
    after a while i’ve decided the blue background has a more natural feel and beauty about it

Leave a Reply

